Have a Nipply New Year: #FreeTheNipples

Shelbee On The Edge
5 min readDec 30, 2021

by Michelle Montoro

Image Source

Coming into the new year, my new favorite soapbox issue is topless freedoms for women. I am jumping on the #FreeTheNipples train a decade after it left the station but definitely not too late to support gender equality and women’s rights to be topless in the same places where men are permitted to be topless. The whole issue of toplessness comes down to that ever so problematic body part…the nipple.

Men can expose theirs. Women cannot. But they are my nipples and I should have the right to cover them or not cover them, to do with them whatever I like. My body, my choice, right? At least that’s what I have always been told, but I have learned that this is not always the case. I guess you can always make your own choices about your body, but those choices generally come with a price…sometimes higher than other times.

Image Source

For example, if I want to walk around topless inside my own home, I can do that without fear of judgment or legal action. And most people wouldn’t think twice about it. But when I tell you that I walk around my house topless in front of my 8 and 10 year old sons, does that change your mind?

--

--

Shelbee On The Edge

Michelle is a passionate scholar and a lover of words with a driving desire to help others in the pursuit of becoming the best possible versions of themselves.