Love Will Prevail

Shelbee On The Edge
4 min readJun 7, 2022

by Michelle Montoro

Image Source

“Love will prevail.”

I am recollecting a conversation I had a few years back when I spoke these exact words to the mother of one of the boys in my son’s class.

We were chatting about parenting and I was complaining about how exhausted I was from being a solo parent for 3 months while my husband was away fulfilling his military obligations. The other mother replied with equal complaints about how difficult it was parenting with a partner who is there in body but absent in every other way.

She went on to explain that maybe they were just in a rough patch and it would pass. They were 13 years into their relationship at that time and 8 years into their marriage with two kids. They are a same sex couple who fought for their right to even be married and then had children via sperm donors. I share this information because I can only imagine that those two things alone can add a tremendous strain on a relationship as if relationships aren’t already hard enough.

I wasn’t sure how to respond to her, so I simply said “Love will prevail.”

And she responded with “I hope so. I really hope so.”

As I drove away, I started thinking about the implications and the power that our words can have on other people. Did I just give her some sort of false hope? I…

--

--

Shelbee On The Edge

Michelle is a passionate scholar and a lover of words with a driving desire to help others in the pursuit of becoming the best possible versions of themselves.