My Religion: The Greatest Of These Is Love

Shelbee On The Edge
5 min readSep 30, 2021

by Michelle Montoro

Image Source

I grew up with a very tumultuous relationship with religion. When I was very young, I was forced to attend my mother’s Lutheran church with her every Sunday. I resisted when I could but soon realized that she was going to make me go anyway so I might as well try to have a more positive attitude about it.

Of course, it wasn’t until high school when I could come to that conclusion and I experienced a complete change of heart at that point and embraced my mother’s religion for the few years that I was in high school.

After high school and beyond, my personal beliefs about religion have changed and evolved dramatically. At times, I was in it wholeheartedly. Then I was out of it. My religious beliefs have cycled and swirled and changed direction countless times.

In college, I majored in Philosophy with a minor in Religious Studies which had great impact on where I stand today on these issues. I have experienced darkness and I have seen the light. I have lost loved ones and I have come face to face with really bad people. I have changed my mind and I have changed my attitude, probably a million times, and ultimately I have landed right here.

My feelings about religion are pretty simple…

--

--

Shelbee On The Edge

Michelle is a passionate scholar and a lover of words with a driving desire to help others in the pursuit of becoming the best possible versions of themselves.