Reclaiming My Sexuality: An Important Pillar of Health

Shelbee On The Edge
7 min readJan 3, 2022

by Michelle Montoro

Image Source

I have been thinking a lot lately about the idea of overall health and well being. If you search online for the main pillars of health, you will find various articles explaining anywhere from three to eight areas of focus for improving our overall wellness and quality of life.

One article lists physical, nutritional, emotional, social, spiritual, intellectual, financial, and environmental as the 8 pillars of holistic health and wellness while another article lists the 4 pillars of health as nutrition, exercise, relaxation, and sleep.

I clicked through dozens of articles on this topic and not a single one included sexuality or sexual health as a main pillar of our overall wellness.

And that got me to wondering…why is that? Is it not beneficial to our overall well being to have a healthy relationship with our bodies on a sexual level?

I know this is a sensitive topic that can make many people uncomfortable, but I also like to break through those walls that society has erected around me telling me that embracing my sexuality is a negative thing.

I grew up in a generation that believed if a woman enjoyed sex and had lots of it, she was nothing more than a slut, “the kind you don’t take home to mother“.

--

--

Shelbee On The Edge

Michelle is a passionate scholar and a lover of words with a driving desire to help others in the pursuit of becoming the best possible versions of themselves.