The Power of No

Shelbee On The Edge
5 min readJul 9, 2021

by Michelle Montoro

Image Source

I spent the first 40 years of my life being a “yes” girl.

Craving to be popular, to be liked, to become the friend my friends could rely on.

Always.

To the point that I exhausted myself. Overwhelmed myself. Literally made myself crazy.

But I had only myself to blame.

You can’t really blame others for taking advantage of the “yes” girl.

Probably they didn’t even realize that I was saying “yes” to everyone who asked me for something. And I believe it is just human nature to keep asking the person who always says “yes.”

It is like a safety zone from rejection.

Image Source

But for the sake of my own sanity, I needed to start saying “no” every once in a while. For a “yes” girl, this seems like a nearly impossible task. Saying “no” might very well be the end of the world as I knew it.

What if my friends thought I was suddenly unreliable? What if they stopped liking me? What if I became known as the selfish friend?

But what if I said “yes” so much that I couldn’t handle all the obligations that…

--

--

Shelbee On The Edge

Michelle is a passionate scholar and a lover of words with a driving desire to help others in the pursuit of becoming the best possible versions of themselves.